Yoga for writers

I spent about three hours of my day yesterday at a workshop designed for yogis and/or writers. 

Like I’ve mentioned before, I’ve had some trouble getting back on the creative writing bandwagon, and this was the perfect opportunity for me to practice. 

We started out doing some streches and learning poses to help open our shoulders and wrists. Which, if you’re a writer, I highly suggest taking any sort of yoga class with shoulder openers … or hip openers, for that matter, since a lot of us sit for long periods of time. 

The middle of the class focused on writing and we did some timed writing exercises after hearing a short play based on and poem from the Bhagavad Gita. I really must say, it’s been quite some time since I did any sort of writing like that — in fact, the last time was probably in my Writer’s Craft class in high school. Yikes. 

The workshop was great, too, because I felt at home with other people who are of a creative mindset. It was really great to read some poems and passages together then discuss them. It was like being back in English class. Boy do I miss those. 

Anyway, I just wanted to post about how much of a great time I had doing this and that it helped me with another tactic to get this novel I want to write out of my mind and on to the page. 

Just another step on the path of creativity! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Yoga for writers

  1. Nicolette Elzie says:

    Great advice, I’m not a yogi by any means but I enjoy practicing whenever I do, and I never have been mindful enough to think about how opening the shoulders and the hips would be helpful, thank you for this post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

